Skip to Content
Search   Home Contact Us Site Map Français

Coat of Arms
Health Professions Appeal and Review Board
About Us Practice Directions and Legislation FAQ Accountability Governance Accessibility Links and Resources Open Data
Members

Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities

On January 1, 2010, the Accessibility Standards for Customer Service regulation, under the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act (AODA), came into effect. The regulation’s standard requires public sector organizations, such as the Health Services and Health Professions Appeal and Review Boards and the Health Boards Secretariat (the Health Boards), to provide accessible customer service to persons with disabilities.

In order to implement the Customer Service Standard, the Health Boards have developed policies, practices and procedures to ensure that there are no barriers to accessing services. All of these documents are publicly available.

Follow these links to review our Customer Service Accessibility Policy and Multi-Year Accessibility Plan.

These links access our Boards’ Accessibility Member Practices & Procedures and Staff Practices & Procedures.


Will I be able to Access the Boards’ Services?
If you require accommodation to access the Health Boards’ services or would like more information, please contact the Health Board Secretariat at 416-327-8512 or at hbs@ontario.ca.


How do Board members and staff know how to provide Accessible Services?
The Health Boards’ members and staff have been trained in the fundamental aspects of accommodation in customer service according to the recent government standards. Each one should be able to take the appropriate steps to accommodate people’s requirements for accessing Board services.
The Boards’ training plans can be seen here - Board Member Training Plan and Staff Training Plan.


Accessibility Commitment
The Health Boards at all times strive to provide our services in a way that respects the dignity and independence of people with disabilities. We are committed to ensuring that people with disabilities have the same opportunity to access and benefit from our services in the same place and in a similar way as others and to the removal of any barriers that may impede full accessibility for people with disabilities. We are guided by the principles of fairness, openness and accountability in every aspect of our work and seek customer comment and input about the accessibility of our services

The Health Boards are committed to excellence in serving everyone who seeks our services or appears before us including people with disabilities. We will carry out our functions and responsibilities in accordance with the Ontario Human Rights Code in all areas of our services.
How can I give feedback to the Health Boards about their Accessibility Services?
The Health Boards’ invites you to provide feedback about your interactions or any issues you might have experienced with the Boards’ Accessibility Services.

When providing us with your comments, please use this Accessibility Customer Feedback Form.

Under the Customer Service Standard the Boards must,
1.   Establish policies, practices and procedures on providing our services to people with disabilities that are consistent with the core principles of independence, dignity, integration and equality of opportunity
2.   Set a policy on allowing people to use their own personal assistive devices to access and use our services and about any other measures our organization offers (assistive devices, services, or methods) to enable people to access and use our services.
3.   Communicate with a person with a disability in a manner that takes into account his or her disability.
4.   Allow people with disabilities to be accompanied by their guide dog or service animal in those areas of the premises we operate that are open to the public, unless the animal is excluded by another law. If a service animal is excluded by law, we must use other measures to provide services to the person with a disability.
5.   Permit people with disabilities who use a support person to bring that person with them while accessing our services in those areas that are open to the public or third parties.
6.   Provide notice when our facilities or services that people with disabilities rely on to access or use our services are temporarily disrupted.
7.   Train our Board members, staff, contractors and any other people who interact with the public on a number of topics as outlined in the customer service standard.
8.   Establish a process for people to provide feedback on how we provide services to people with disabilities and how we will respond to any feedback.
You will need the Adobe Acrobat Reader to view pdf files.
home | contact us | site map | français
This information is provided as a public service, but we cannot guarantee that the information is current or accurate. Readers should verify the information before acting on it.
External Links Disclaimer
This site is maintained by the Health Professions Appeal and Review Board.
Copyright information: © Queen's Printer for Ontario, 2012-15

Aller au contenu
Search Home Contact Us Site Map English Version

Coat of Arms
Commission d’appel et de révision des professions de la santé
Notre organisation Règles de pratique et de procédure et législation FAQ Responsabilisation Gouvernance Accessibilité Liens Connexes et Ressources Données publiques
Session Aux Membres

Page de ressources sur l’accessibilité

Le 1er janvier 2010, le règlement sur les Normes d’accessibilité pour les services à la clientèle adopté en vertu de la Loi sur l’accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario est entré en vigueur. Ces Normes imposent aux organismes du secteur public, notamment aux commissions d’appel et de révision des services de santé et des professions de la santé et au Secrétariat des conseils de santé (les Conseils de santé), l’obligation d’offrir des services à la clientèle accessibles aux personnes handicapées.

Les Conseils de santé ont donc établi des politiques, des pratiques et des procédures afin de respecter les Normes d’accessibilité pour les services à la clientèle et ainsi veiller à ce que toutes les personnes puissent accéder sans entrave à ses services à la clientèle. Le public peut avoir accès à tous ces documents.

Les liens ci-dessous permettent d’y accéder.

Plan pluriannuel d’accessibilité

Politique sur l’accessibilité des services à la clientèle

Pratiques et procédures des membres des Conseils de santé

Pratiques et procédures des employés des Conseils de santé


Serais-je capable d’accéder aux services des Conseils de santé?
Si vous avez besoin d’une mesure d’adaptation pour accéder aux services des Conseils de santé ou souhaitez obtenir plus de renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec le Secrétariat des conseils de santé par téléphone au 416-327-8512 ou courriel à l’adresse hbs@ontario.ca.


Les membres et les employés des Conseils de santé savent-ils comment offrir des services accessibles?
Les membres et les employés des Conseils de santé ont suivi une formation sur les aspects fondamentaux des mesures d’adaptation pouvant donner accès à ses services à la clientèle, comme l’exigent les récentes normes gouvernementales. Chacun d’entre eux doit être capable de prendre les mesures d’adaptation appropriées pour permettre à une personne handicapée d’accéder aux services des Conseils.

Les liens ci-dessous permettent d’accéder aux plans de formation des Conseils :
Plan de formation des membres
Plan de formation des employés


Engagement envers l’accessibilité
Les Conseils de santé s’efforcent en tout temps d’offrir des services d’une façon qui respecte la dignité et l’indépendance des personnes handicapées. Nous nous sommes engagés à leur donner la même possibilité d’accéder à nos services et d’en bénéficier que les autres membres du public, et ce, au même endroit et de la même façon que ceux-ci. Nous nous sommes également engagés à éliminer tout obstacle pouvant empêcher une personne handicapée d’accéder pleinement à nos services. Nous prenons appui sur les principes que sont l’équité, l’ouverture et la responsabilité pour réaliser tous les volets de notre travail. Nous demandons à nos clients de nous transmettre leurs commentaires au sujet de l’accessibilité de nos services.

Les Conseils de santé ont à cœur d’offrir d’excellents services à chaque personne qui requiert nos services ou se présente devant nous, y compris les personnes handicapées. Nous assumons nos rôles et nos responsabilités en respectant le Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario dans tous les volets de nos services.
De quelle façon puis-je transmettre des commentaires aux Conseils de santé au sujet de l’accessibilité de leurs services?
Les Conseils de santé vous invitent à leur faire part de vos commentaires au sujet de vos interactions avec eux ou de tout problème concernant ses services.

Veuillez utiliser le formulaire suivant pour transmettre vos commentaires :
Formulaire de transmission de commentaires sur l’accessibilité des services

D’après les Normes d’accessibilité pour les services à la clientèle, les Conseils de santé doivent :
1.   Établir des politiques, des pratiques et des procédures régissant la fourniture de services aux personnes handicapées qui sont compatibles avec les principes fondamentaux que sont l’indépendance, la dignité, l’intégration et l’égalité des chances.
2.   Établir une politique permettant l’utilisation d’appareils ou d’accessoires fonctionnels personnels pour avoir accès à leurs services, ainsi qu’une politique relative à toute autre mesure offerte par eux (appareils ou accessoires fonctionnels, services ou méthodes) pour permettre l’accès à leurs services.
3.   Communiquer avec une personne handicapée d’une manière qui tient compte de son handicap.
4.   Permettre aux personnes handicapées d’être accompagnées de leur chien-guide ou d’un autre animal d’assistance dans les lieux dont ils sont le propriétaire ou l’exploitant et qui sont ouverts au public, sauf si l’animal est exclu des lieux par une autre loi. Si un animal d’assistance est exclu par la loi, recourir à d’autres mesures pour fournir des services à la personne handicapée.
5.   Permettre aux personnes handicapées qui ont recours à une personne de soutien d’amener cette personne avec elles pendant qu’elles accèdent à leurs services dans des lieux ouverts au public ou à des tiers.
6.   Donner un avis en cas de perturbation temporaire affectant les lieux ou les services dont les personnes handicapées dépendent pour avoir accès à leurs services ou pour les utiliser.
7.   Former les membres, les employés, les entrepreneurs et toutes les autres personnes qui sont en relation avec le public sur un certain nombre de sujets, comme l’indique les Normes d’accessibilité pour les services à la clientèle.
8.   Instaurer un processus permettant aux gens de formuler des commentaires sur la façon dont ils offrent des services aux personnes handicapées et sur la façon dont ils traiteront ces commentaires.
Vous aurez besoin du logiciel Adobe Acrobat Reader pour afficher les fichiers PDF.
Page d'accueil | Pour nous joindre | Plan du site | English
Les renseignements de ce site sont fournis à titre de service au public. On ne peut garantir que l'information est à jour ou exacte. Les lecteurs devront vérifier l'information avant de s'en servir.
Avis de non-responsabilité concernant les liens externes
Ce site est mis à jour par la Commission d’appel et de révision des professions de la santé.
Renseignements sur les droits d'auteur: © Imprimeur de la Reine pour l'Ontario, 2012-15