Skip to Content
Search   Home Contact Us Site Map Français

Coat of Arms
Health Professions Appeal and Review Board
ABOUT US LEGAL FAQs RESOURCES ACCOUNTABILITY GOVERNANCE ACCESSIBILITY LINKS OPEN DATA
MEMBERS

About Us

Introduction to the Health Professions Appeal and Review Board

An Overview of Ontario’s Self-regulating Health Profession System

The Health Professions Appeal and Review Board is an adjudicative body with a review and appeal mandate established by provincial legislation under the Regulated Health Professions Act, 1991 (the RHPA). The RHPA provides a common framework for regulating Ontario’s self-regulated health professions. According to section 3 of the RHPA, there are several underlying objectives:

  • To ensure that the health professions are regulated and co-ordinated in the public interest;
  • To ensure that appropriate standards of practice are developed and maintained;
  • To ensure that individuals have access to services provided by the health professions of their choice; and
  • To ensure that individuals are treated with sensitivity and respect in their dealings with the health professionals, the Colleges, and the Board.

The Board is an integral component of the self-regulating health profession system in Ontario. It is responsible for conducting complaint and registration reviews and hearings concerning the Registration, Accreditation and Inquiries, Complaints and Reports Committee decisions of 28 self-regulated health professions in Ontario:

  • Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology
  • Chiropody
  • Chiropractic
  • Dental Hygiene
  • Dental Technology
  • Dentistry
  • Denturism
  • Dietetics
  • Transitional Council of Homeopathy
  • Transitional Council of Kinesiology
  • Massage Therapy
  • Medical Laboratory Technology
  • Medical Radiation Technology
  • Medicine
  • Midwifery
  • Transitional Council of Naturopathy
  • Nursing
  • Occupational Therapy
  • Opticianry
  • Optometry
  • Pharmacy
  • Physiotherapy
  • Psychology
  • Transitional Council of Psychotherapy
  • Registered Practical Nursing
  • Respiratory Therapy
  • Transitional Council of Traditional Chinese Medicine and Acupuncturists
  • Veterinary Medicine

The practice of each of these health professions and its members is governed by a College, pursuant to the provisions of the Health Professions Procedural Code (the Code). The Code is schedule 2 to the RHPA and is deemed by section 4 of the RHPA to be part of each health profession’s constituting act.

The Code requires that each College have its own Governing Council composed of members of the profession and the public, as well as certain specific committees to deal with complaints concerning members, registration matters, disciplinary matters, etc. Each College is responsible for developing and maintaining standards of qualification, practice, knowledge, continuing competence and ethics for its profession. The Colleges administer programs designed to protect the public interest. Each of the professions has a specific statute and regulations that set-out qualifications for registration, definitions of professional misconduct, and the composition and procedures of the governing councils.

Back to Top

The Role of the Health Professions Appeal and Review Board

Through reviews and hearings, the Board monitors the activities of the Colleges' Inquiries, Complaints and Reports Committees and Registration or Accreditation Committees, in order to ensure they fulfill their duties in the public interest and as mandated by legislation. The Board provides a neutral forum for members of the public as well as for health professionals.

The Board also hears appeals concerning physicians’ hospital privileges in Ontario, pursuant to the Public Hospitals Act.

The Board is obliged to provide its written decision with reasons to the concerned parties and to the College.

Back to Top

Organization of the Board

Pursuant to the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care Appeal and Review Boards Act, 1998, the Board is to consist of at least twelve members. One of its members is designated as the Chair, and two are designated as Vice-Chairs. Members are appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council on the Minister’s recommendation for terms not exceeding three years, and may be reappointed. The practice is, however, not to re-appoint any given member for more than one additional term.

Proceedings before the Board are considered by a panel of one or three members, one of whom shall be the Chair, a Vice-Chair, or a Vice-Chair designated by the Chair.

Administrative and fiscal support is provided to the Board by the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care. The support is provided through the Health Boards Secretariat, a branch of the Ministry. The Secretariat provides similar services to three other provincial adjudicative agencies affiliated with the Ministry. Certain services, staff, and facilities are shared.

The Secretariat also carries financial responsibility for all public appointees to the Colleges.

Offices of the Board and the Secretariat are located at 151 Bloor Street West, 9th floor, Toronto.

Back to Top

Complaint Reviews

Most of the Board’s work consists of reviewing decisions of the Colleges' Inquiries, Complaints and Reports Committees. The Board’s review is the final legislated venue for the review of such complaint matters. Complaint reviews are oral or written proceedings, to which some provisions of the Statutory Powers Procedure Act, 1990, apply.

The review process is set-out in the Code and in the Board’s Rules of Practice. The parties to these reviews are the individual complainant(s) and the health professional(s) who are the subject(s) of the complaint. Either party may request a review and may have a lawyer or agent represent them. Although the attendance of parties is not mandatory, parties generally attend. Many complainants appear before the Board without legal counsel. Health professionals who are the subject of a complaint are often legally represented. The College, while generally represented at the review, is not a party to it.

The Board’s jurisdiction enables it to determine the adequacy of the Inquiries, Complaints and Reports Committees' investigations and/or the reasonableness of the Committees’ decisions.

After a complaint review, a number of dispositions are available to the Board pursuant to the Code. It may,

  1. Confirm all or part of the Committee’s decision;
  2. Make recommendations to the Inquiries, Complaints and Reports Committee (regarding, for example, professional standards or practice issues); or
  3. Require the Inquiries, Complaints and Reports Committee to do things it has the jurisdiction to do, such as further investigating and/or considering all or particular aspects of the complaint, or to make a particular disposition of the matter, such as,
    • Taking no further action;
    • Requiring remedial action of the member who is the subject of the complaint; or
    • Referring the member under investigation to the Discipline Committee.

Back to Top

Registration Reviews and Hearings

Each of the self-governing health professions has its own requirements for registration. These requirements are part of the law and are set-out in each College’s registration regulation(s). A frequent question, and one involving the larger public interest, is whether an applicant may be exempted from aspects of the profession’s registration requirements.

Situations may involve applicants who have allowed their certificates of registration to lapse and, when reapplying, do not meet current requirements for (re)entering the profession. An educational program completed by an applicant in the 1970s or 1980s, for example, may well have met the professional requirements for registration at that time, but may not meet the educational program requirements for individuals currently seeking to enter the profession.

Registration matters before the Board often involve applicants who were trained and licensed to practice in either other provinces or other countries. In such cases, issues of equivalency of education and training, objective assessment of skills and knowledge, and the assurance of minimal standards for registration by the College commonly arise.

The Board conducts reviews and hearings of orders of the Registration Committees of the Colleges, and in the case of the College of Veterinarians of Ontario, its Accreditation Committee. The parties are the individual seeking to be registered or accredited, and the College. The applicant may choose to have either a documentary review of the Registration Committee’s order or an oral hearing before the Board.

After the hearing or review, the Board will make an order with written reasons for its decision, and provide it to the parties. The Board may,

  1. Confirm the order made by the panel of the College’s Registration Committee;
  2. Require the Registration Committee to order the College’s Registrar to issue a certificate of registration to the applicant if he or she successfully completes particular examinations or training the Committee may specify;
  3. Require the Registration Committee to order the College’s Registrar to issue a certificate of registration to the applicant, with or without the imposition of specific terms, conditions and limitations the Board considers appropriate ; or
  4. Refer the matter back to the Registration Committee for further consideration by a panel, together with any recommendations the Board considers appropriate.

Back to Top

Hearings Under the Public Hospitals Act Concerning Physicians’ Hospital Privileges

Any applicant for appointment or reappointment to the medical staff of a hospital who was a party to a proceeding before the hospital board, and who considers himself or herself aggrieved by that board’s decision not to appoint or reappoint him or her to the medical staff, is entitled to a hearing before the Health Professions Appeal and Review Board.

Also entitled to a Board hearing is any member of a hospital’s medical staff who considers himself or herself aggrieved by any decision revoking, suspending, or substantially altering his or her appointment.

At the conclusion of a hearing the Board may either confirm or substitute in accordance with the Public Hospitals Act, its own opinion for the decision appealed from. The procedural provisions of the Statutory Powers Procedure Act, 1990, apply to hearings conducted by the Board under the Public Hospitals Act.

Back to Top

home | contact us | site map | français
This information is provided as a public service, but we cannot guarantee that the information is current or accurate. Readers should verify the information before acting on it.
External Links Disclaimer
This site is maintained by the Health Professions Appeal and Review Board.
Copyright information: © Queen's Printer for Ontario, 2012-15

Aller au contenu
Search Home Contact Us Site Map English Version

Coat of Arms
Commission d’appel et de révision des professions de la santé
Notre organisation Règles de pratique et de procédure et législation FAQ Responsabilisation Gouvernance Accessibilité Liens Connexes et Ressources Données publiques
Session Aux Membres

Notre organisation

Qui nous sommes

Le siteweb du Secrétariat des nominations fournit des informations sur le processus de nominations du gouvernement ainsi qu’un aperçu de toutes les agences, Commissions et Tribunaux et leurs membres. La CARPS se retrouve sous la rubrique "Organismes".

Retour au haut de la page

Un aperçu du système des professions de la santé autoréglementées de l'Ontario

La Commission d'appel et de révision des professions de la santé est un organisme d'arbitrage dont le mandat de révision et d'appel est établi par la législation provinciale en vertu de la Loi de 1991 sur les professions de la santé réglementées (la LPSR). La LPSR offre un cadre de travail commun aux professions de la santé autoréglementées de l'Ontario. Selon l'article 3 de la LPSR, il existe plusieurs objectifs sous-jacents :

  • Garantir la réglementation et la coordination des professions de la santé dans l'intérêt public;
  • Garantir l'établissement et le respect de normes d'exercice appropriées;
  • Assurer la possibilité pour les particuliers d'avoir accès aux services des professions de la santé de leur choix;
  • Assurer que les particuliers sont traités avec sensibilité et respect dans leurs rapports avec les professionnels de la santé, les ordres et la Commission.

La Commission fait partie intégrante du système des professions de la santé autoréglementées de l'Ontario. Elle est chargée de mener des enquêtes et de tenir des audiences concernant les décisions prises par les comité d’enquêtes, de plaintes et de rapports, d'agrément et d'accréditation des 28 professions de la santé autoréglementées en Ontario:

  • Audiologie et orthophonie
  • Chiropratique
  • Dentisterie
  • Denturologie
  • Diététique
  • Ergothérapie
  • Homéopathes
  • Hygiène dentaire
  • Kinésiologues
  • Massothérapie
  • Médecine
  • Médecine vétérinaire
  • Naturopathes
  • Optométrie
  • Pharmacie
  • Physiothérapie
  • Podologie
  • Praticiens en médecine traditionnelle chinoise et des acupuncteurs
  • Profession de sage-femme
  • Profession d'opticien
  • Psychologie
  • Psychothérapeutes
  • Soins infirmiers
  • Technologie de laboratoire médical
  • Technologie dentaire
  • Technologie de radiation médicale
  • Thérapie respiratoire

L'exercice de chacune de ces professions de la santé de même que ses membres sont régis par un ordre en vertu des dispositions du Code des professions de la santé (le Code). Le Code constitue l'annexe 2 de la LPSR et selon l'article 4 de la LPSR, il est réputé faire partie de chaque loi sur une profession de la santé.

Le Code exige que chaque ordre dispose de son propre conseil d'administration formé de membres de la profession et du public, ainsi que de certains comités spéciaux chargés de s'occuper des plaintes relatives aux membres, aux questions d'agrément, aux questions disciplinaires, etc. Chaque ordre est tenu d'élaborer et de respecter des normes relatives à la qualification, à l'exercice de la profession, aux connaissances, au maintien des compétences et à l'éthique concernant sa profession. L'ordre gère les programmes conçus pour protéger l'intérêt du public. Chacune des professions disposent de statuts et de règlements particuliers qui établissent l'admissibilité, la définition d'une faute professionnelle, ainsi que la composition des conseils d'administration et les procédures suivies par ceux-ci.

Retour au haut de la page

Le rôle de la Commission d'appel et de révision des professions de la santé

Par l'entremise d'examens et d'audiences, la Commission supervise les activités des comités d’enquêtes, de plaintes et de rapports des ordres, d'agrément ou d'accréditation des ordres, afin de s'assurer qu'ils exécutent leurs obligations dans l'intérêt du public, tel qu'exigé par la loi. La Commission offre un forum impartial aux membres du public ainsi qu'aux professionnels de la santé.

La Commission instruit également des appels concernant les droits hospitaliers des médecins en Ontario, en vertu de la Loi sur les hôpitaux publics.

La Commission est tenue de soumettre sa décision par écrit, accompagnée des motifs, aux parties concernées ainsi qu'à l'ordre.

Retour au haut de la page

Structure de la Commission

Conformément à la Loi de 1998 sur les commissions d’appel et de révision du ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée, la Commission doit compter au moins 12 membres. L'un de ces membres est nommé président, et deux autres sont nommés vice-présidents. Les membres sont nommés par le lieutenant-gouverneur en conseil sur recommandation du ministre, pour des termes ne dépassant pas trois ans; toutefois, les membres peuvent être nommés à nouveau. De façon générale, les membres ne sont cependant pas nommés pour plus de deux termes.

Les affaires dont la Commission est saisie sont étudiées par un tribunal de un ou trois membres, l'un d'entre eux étant le président, le vice-président ou un vice-président nommé par le président.

Le soutien administratif et financier est fourni à la Commission par le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée. Le soutien est offert par l'entremise du Secrétariat des conseils de santé, une division du Ministère. Le Secrétariat offre des services semblables aux trois autres organismes d'arbitrage de la province associés au Ministère. Certains services, du personnel et des installations sont partagés.

Le Secrétariat assume également la responsabilité financière de tous les membres publics nommés au sein des ordres.

Les bureaux de la Commission et du Secrétariat sont situés au 151, rue Bloor Ouest,
9e étage, Toronto.

Retour au haut de la page

Examen des plaintes

La majorité du travail de la Commission consiste en l'examen des décisions prises par les comités d’enquêtes, de plaintes et de rapports des ordres. L'examen de la Commission est le dernier recours légal concernant l'examen de telles plaintes. Les examens des plaintes consistent en des procédures verbales ou écrites, auxquelles s'appliquent certaines dispositions de la Loi sur l'exercice des compétences légales, 1990.

Le processus d'examen est établi dans le Code ainsi que dans les Règles de procédures de la Commission. Les parties qui assistent à ces examens sont le ou les plaignants et le ou les professionnels de la santé qui font l'objet de la plainte. Chaque partie peut demander un examen et peut recourir aux services d'un avocat ou d'un agent pour les représenter. Bien que la présence des parties ne soit pas obligatoire, de façon générale, ces dernières assistent. Plusieurs plaignants comparaissent devant la Commission sans conseiller juridique. Les professionnels de la santé qui font l'objet de la plainte sont souvent représentés par un avocat. L'ordre, bien que généralement représenté lors de l'examen, n'assiste pas.

La compétence de la Commission lui permet de déterminer la pertinence des enquêtes menées par les comités d’enquêtes, de plaintes et de rapports des ordres et le caractère raisonnable des décisions des comités.

Après l'examen d'une plainte, plusieurs possibilités s'offrent à la Commission en vertu du Code. Cette dernière peut :

  1. Confirmer l'ensemble, ou une partie, de la décision du comité;
  2. Présenter des recommandations au comité d’enquêtes, de plaintes et de rapports des ordres (en ce qui concerne par exemple les normes professionnelles ou des questions liées à l'exercice de la profession);
  3. Exiger que le comité d’enquêtes, de plaintes et de rapports des ordres prenne des mesures pour lesquelles il dispose des compétences, comme une enquête plus approfondie ou l'étude d'aspects particuliers liés à la plainte, ou encore de prendre une décision particulière sur la question comme :
    • Ne pas prendre d'autres mesures;
    • Exiger des mesures correctives de la part du membre qui fait l'objet de la plainte;
    • Renvoyer le membre sous enquêté devant le comité de discipline.

Retour au haut de la page

Examens et audiences concernant l'agrément

Chacune des professions de la santé autoréglementées a ses propres exigences en ce qui concerne l'agrément. Ces exigences font partie de la loi et sont établies dans chaque règlement de l'ordre relatif à l'agrément. Une question qui est souvent posée, touchant l'intérêt public en général, concerne la possibilité qu'un candidat soit exempté de certains aspects liés aux exigences d'agrément de la profession.

Certaines situations supposent que des candidats ont laissé leur certificat d'agrément venir à échéance et, au moment de faire une nouvelle demande, ne répondent plus aux exigences actuelles pour exercer à nouveau la profession. Un programme de formation, réussi par un candidat dans les années 1970 ou 1980, pourrait très bien avoir permis à ce candidat de satisfaire les exigences professionnelles d'agrément à ce moment-là, sans toutefois satisfaire aux exigences des programmes de formation pour les candidats qui cherchent à exercer la profession aujourd'hui.

Les questions d'agrément présentées devant la Commission concernent souvent des candidats qui ont été formés et autorisés à exercer la profession, soit dans d'autres provinces ou dans d'autres pays. Dans de tels cas, les questions relatives à l'équivalence en matière de formation et d'éducation, à l'évaluation objective des compétences et du savoir ainsi qu'à l'assurance des normes minimales d'agrément par l'ordre sont fréquemment soulevées.

La Commission procède à des examens et tient des audiences concernant les ordonnances émises par les comités d'agrément des ordres, et dans le cas de l'Ordre des vétérinaires de l'Ontario, par son comité d'accréditation. Les parties concernées sont le candidat qui cherche à être agréé ou accrédité et l'ordre. Le candidat peut choisir une révision documentaire de l'ordonnance émise par le comité d'agrément ou une audience verbale devant la Commission.

Après l'audience ou l'examen, la Commission émettra une ordonnance, accompagnée des motifs écrits de sa décision, et la fournira aux parties. La Commission peut :

  1. Confirmer l'ordonnance émise par le tribunal du Comité d'agrément de l'ordre;
  2. Exiger au comité d'agrément d'ordonner au registraire de l'ordre d'émettre un certificat d'agrément au candidat s'il ou elle réussit des examens particuliers ou encore une formation précisée par le Comité;
  3. Exiger au comité d'agrément d'ordonner au registraire de l'ordre d'émettre un certificat d'agrément au candidat, avec ou sans l'imposition de modalités, de conditions et de limitations particulières que la Commission considère appropriées.
  4. Renvoyer la question au comité d'agrément pour une étude plus approfondie par un tribunal, en plus de recommandations que la Commission considère appropriées.

Retour au haut de la page

Audiences en vertu de la Loi sur les hôpitaux publics en ce qui concerne les droits hospitaliers des médecins

Tout candidat à la nomination ou à la renomination en tant que personnel médical d'un hôpital, qui était une partie lors de procédures devant la conseil d'administration de l'hôpital, et qui se considère lésé par la décision de ce conseil de ne pas l'avoir nommé ou renommé en tant que personnel médical, a droit à une audience devant la Commission d'appel et de révision des professions de la santé.

Un membre du personnel médical d'un hôpital qui se considère lésé par toute décision révoquant, suspendant ou modifiant considérablement sa nomination a également droit à une audience devant la Commission.

Aux termes de cette audience, la Commission peut soit confirmer ou modifier, conformément à la Loi sur les hôpitaux publics, sa propre opinion concernant la décision portée en appel. Les dispositions concernant l'exercice de la Loi sur l'exercice des compétences légales, 1990, s'appliquent aux audiences tenues par la Commission en vertu de la Loi sur les hôpitaux publics.

Retour au haut de la page

Page d'accueil | Pour nous joindre | Plan du site | English
Les renseignements de ce site sont fournis à titre de service au public. On ne peut garantir que l'information est à jour ou exacte. Les lecteurs devront vérifier l'information avant de s'en servir.
Avis de non-responsabilité concernant les liens externes
Ce site est mis à jour par la Commission d’appel et de révision des professions de la santé.
Renseignements sur les droits d'auteur: © Imprimeur de la Reine pour l'Ontario, 2012-15